Wednesday, November 14, 2007

C.C. Sabathia Wins the A.L. Cy Young

Which is more shocking here: Sabathia winning the Cy Young award or a Boston player (Josh Beckett) finally not winning something? Sabathia won the AL Cy Young Award on Tuesday, topping Boston's ace and two other worthy contenders by a comfortable margin to become the first Cleveland Indians pitcher in 35 years and only the second Cleveland Indians pitcher in team history to earn the honor.

Sabathia, Beckett, Lackey, and Carmona were all in contention for the A.L. Cy Young. During the regular season, Sabathia went 19-7 with a 3.21 ERA and 209 strikeouts, pitching a major league-high 241 innings. Beckett (20-7) became the only big leaguer to win 20 games since 2005, compiling a 3.27 ERA in 200 2/3 innings. Lackey led the AL in ERA at 3.01, going 19-9 and tossing 224 innings. Carmona was 19-8 with a 3.06 ERA. The major difference which led to Sabathia's win over Beckett for this award is that because Sabathia started 34 games and Beckett started 30, Sabathia pitched more innings.

However, its fair to say that if the postseason stats factored into the Cy Young decision, Beckett would have won this award in a landslide. Josh Beckett defeated Sabathia two times in the AL Championship Series and went 4-0 with a 1.20 ERA in four postseason starts, striking out 35 and walking two. Sabathia was 1-2 with an 8.80 ERA and 13 walks in three playoff outings.

The N.L Cy Young award will be handed out on Thursday and Jake Peavy should be the receipent of that award.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

very intresting i love this website! i can get all my sports facts!