Sunday, February 10, 2008

Jimmie Johnson Will Have A Front Row Seat In The 2008 Daytona 500

NASCAR is back. Ignoring Tony Stewart already, reigning NASCAR champion Jimmie Johnson won his second Daytona 500 pole less than 24 hours after new Hendrick teammate Dale Earnhardt Jr. took the checkered flag in the non-points Budweiser Shootout.

Pole Position

Jimmie Johnson may have won the pole for next Sunday's Daytona 500, but that doesn't exactly mean the defending Cup champ is on easy street. The last polesitter to win the Great American Race was Dale Jarrett in 2000.

Won Daytona 500 From Pole
Year Driver
2000 Dale Jarrett
1999 Jeff Gordon
1987 Bill Elliott
1985 Bill Elliott
1984 Cale Yarborough
1980 Buddy Baker
1968 Cale Yarborough
1966 Richard Petty
1962 Fireball Roberts

Michael Waltrip, caught using what is basically steroids for cars last year, also had a great run Sunday, taking the outside pole.

Only the top two qualifiers locked in starting positions for next week's 50th running of the Daytona 500.

Asked if this makes him the favorite to win the 500, Johnson said, "We have to wait until we get out in the draft and see how these cars work. That's really a true test of these cars. We know we have the fastest single car."

No comments: