Monday, December 3, 2007

The Latest Players Elected To The Baseball Hall Of Fame

Bowie Kuhn
• MLB Commissioner, 1969-1984
• Highlights of tenure included introduction of night baseball in World Series, introduction of free agency, addition of 6 MLB teams

Walter O'Malley
• Owner of Dodgers from 1944-1979 (until his death)
• Team won 4 World Series titles during his ownership
• Moved Dodgers from Brooklyn to Los Angeles after 1957 season
• Instrumental in expansion of baseball to West Coast
• Owner at Dodgers at time of baseball integration (Jackie Robinson)

Dick Williams
• Won 4 pennants, 2 World Series titles (1972, '73) in 21 years as a manager
• 1,571 wins (18th all-time), .520 winning pct. as manager
• Took 3 different franchises (Red Sox, Athletics, Padres) to World Series

Billy Southworth
• Won 4 pennants, 2 World Series titles (1942, '44) in 13 years as a manager
• .597 winning percentage, won 100-plus games in 3 straight seasons (1942-1944)
• Hit .297 in 13-year MLB career (1913-1929)

Barney Dreyfuss
• Owner, Pittsburgh Pirates (1900-1932, won 2 World Series titles)
• Also owned Louisville Colonels, a team contracted after the 1899 season
• Helped arrange for the first World Series (1903)

In the Runner Up positions:
Manager Whitey Herzog and umpire Doug Harvey each missed induction by a single vote.

No comments: